Need help? Contact library@nbcc.ca
Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations
by
Practical strategies for ensuring leadership success within nonprofit organizations In Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations: A Framework For Success, veteran senior leader and CEO Paul L. Dann, PhD, draws on over 30 years of developing and advancing nonprofits to walk you through practical strategies that support success as a nonprofit leader. The book is filled with universally applicable examples of how to implement its leadership techniques. Leaders working in a variety of sectors will benefit from the author's careful balance of theory and practice. In the book, they'll also find: How to choose a leadership style that suits your personality, the people you work with, and your organization How to engage in the co-creation of leadership through generative leadership practice, including the development of an organizational philosophy, practice, and structure How to manage employee performance and engagement and how to choose successful management systems to leverage success Ideal for practicing and aspiring nonprofit organization managers, board members, and directors, Managing and Leading Nonprofit Organizations: A Framework For Success is an indispensable, one-stop resource for the development and deployment of leadership skills in challenging as well as complex nonprofit environments.
Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations
by
The essential planning resource and framework for nonprofit leaders Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations is the comprehensive, practical guide to building and sustaining a more effective organization. Solid strategy is now more important than ever, and this book provides a clear framework for designing and implementing an effective and efficient planning process. From identifying stakeholders and clarifying a shared vision, to implementing plans and revising strategies, the discussion covers all aspects of the process to help you keep your organization united and on track into the future. The field's leading authority shares insight, advice, helpful tools, and specific techniques, alongside a widely used and well-regarded approach to real-world planning. This new fifth edition includes new case studies and examples along with up-to-date resources and references, and new multimedia-related content. Innovation and creativity produce great ideas, but these ideas must be collected and organized into an actionable plan supported by a coalition of support to make your organization great. This book provides expert guidance and perspective to help you bring everything together into a workable organizational strategy. Discover an effective approach to the strategic planning process Identify issues, establish a vision, clarify mandates, and implement plans Manage the process with continual learning and revising Link unique assets and abilities to better accomplish the central mission Public and nonprofit leaders are forever striving to do more with less, and great strategic planning can help you build efficiency and effectiveness into your organization's everyday operations. Strategic Planning for Public and Nonprofit Organizations provides the framework and tools you need to start planning for tomorrow today.
Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations
by
Essential tools and guidance for effective nonprofit financial management Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations provides students, professionals, and board members with a comprehensive reference for the field. Identifying key objectives and exploring current practices, this book offers practical guidance on all major aspects of nonprofit financial management. As nonprofit organizations fall under ever-increasing scrutiny and accountability, this book provides the essential knowledge and tools professional need to maintain a strong financial management system while serving the organization's stated mission. Financial management, cash flow, and financial sustainability are perennial issues, and this book highlights the concepts, skills, and tools that help organizations address those issues. Clear guidance on analytics, reporting, investing, risk management, and more comprise a singular reference that nonprofit finance and accounting professionals and board members should keep within arm's reach. Updated to reflect the post-recession reality and outlook for nonprofits, this new edition includes new examples, expanded tax-exempt financing material, and recession analysis that informs strategy going forward. Articulate the proper primary financial objective, target liquidity, and how it ensures financial health and sustainability Understand nonprofit financial practices, processes, and objectives Manage your organization's resources in the context of its mission Delve into smart investing and risk management best practices Manage liquidity, reporting, cash and operating budgets, debt and other liabilities, IP, legal risk, internal controls and more Craft appropriate financial policies Although the U.S. economy has recovered, recovery has not addressed the systemic and perpetual funding challenges nonprofits face year after year. Despite positive indicators, many organizations remain hampered by pursuit of the wrong primary financial objective, insufficient funding and a lack of investment in long-term sustainability; in this climate, financial managers must stay up-to-date with the latest tools, practices, and regulations in order to serve their organization's interests. Financial Management for Nonprofit Organizations provides clear, in-depth reference and strategy for navigating the expanding financial management function.
21st Century Skills for Non-Profit Managers
by
Over the last 30 years nonprofit organizations have grown massively in capacity, scope, and authority across the world. With growing demand for services, there are numerous opportunities for nonprofits to respond innovatively and sustainably. Any experienced nonprofit manager knows the role is sometimes frustrating but always exhilarating, working with people and empowering them. Severe funding cuts make this more testing, but new prospects are appearing. If you are new to management or the sector, you need a book describing good practice to inform and guide you. Managing a small nonprofit, requires you to multitask, manage your time and prioritize tasks, while taking on extra responsibilities, you need new skills such as fundraising, all covered in this book. This book covers essential aspects (staffing, communications, charity governance, donations, corporate social responsibility, crowdfunding). With useful case studies, resources and links, it avoids jargon and intellectualizing. Topics include effective business planning, empowering staff and clients, writing successful fundraising applications and preparing government tenders for the U.S. and UK.
Financial Risk Management
by
Protect your organization against financial misconduct In Financial Risk Management: From Metrics to Human Conduct, Frantz Maurer delivers a thorough and practical review of the core methods used by professionals in the real world to reduce the risk of financial misconduct. Starting with the key points of banking regulation, the author then describes in simple terms the most extensively used risk metrics in the banking industry. Readers can fully grasp and implement the techniques discussed within without a strong background in probabilities or statistics. The last part of the book focuses on conduct risk markers and show how to implement a conduct risk index that benchmarks the conduct of natural risk-takers like traders. The author describes how to marry this simple approach to financial risk with a conduct risk index that benchmarks the conduct of natural risk-takers, like traders. Readers will also find: Step-by-step guidance on how to apply common risk indicators to real-world situations Actionable advice for improving the resilience of financial institutions against individual misconduct and misbehavior A holistic and non-quantitative approach to a subject of critical importance, Financial Risk Management: From Metrics to Human Conduct will earn a place in the libraries of risk managers, compliance professionals, and master's level students in business administration and finance.
Integrated Operational Risk Management
by
A hands-on and tech-aware exploration of operational risk management In Integrated Operational Risk Management: Tools, Techniques and Meeting Regulatory Expectations, distinguished risk and compliance practitioners Jimi Hinchliffe and Andrew Sheen deliver a practical discussion of operational risk management (ORM) with a pronounced focus on operational resilience and regulatory context, history, and expectations. The book offers a comprehensive explanation of how to create a holistic framework for ORM that breaks down the silos in non-financial risk management, improves efficiency, avoids duplication, and adds value to the business. The authors examine ORM's place within enterprise risk management and describes the origins and evolution of ORM as a discipline. It considers the roles of the BCBS, UK FSA and the Institute of Operational Risk. You'll also find: A variety of ORM tools and frameworks you can implement immediately to incorporate best practices on governance, risk assessment, and other areas Strategies for risk identification and controls management and balancing Up-to-date discussions of the latest and best practices in operational risk management Perfect for risk and compliance professionals at financial and non-financial firms, Integrated Operational Risk Management is a must-read resource for everyone interested in a forward-looking and contemporary examination of best practices in ORM.
Pursuing Impact
by
Drive meaningful change, align your mission and vision, and achieve your nonprofit's goals with this in-depth, six-stage strategic planning guide for nonprofits. In Pursuing Impact, scholar and former nonprofit executive director Alicia Schatteman shares her unique experience and expertise to help organizations navigate the complexities of strategic planning effectively. Going beyond the typical step-by-step manuals, Schatteman addresses the nuances that nonprofit leaders face during the planning and implementation stages and emphasizes the cyclical nature of planning while acknowledging the need for flexibility and adaptability.
Fundraising Is
by
Fundraising Is helps fundraisers build a sustainable plan for their individual and their organization's success. Fundraising is a profession. In any profession there is a need for training and development along with exceptional communication skills and strategy. Fundraisers are often left to their own initiative to learn about an organization and its mission and figure out how to tell the story to supporters and raise significant amounts of money. In contrast, the average sales organization invests nine days of product information and training before they release their team members to generate revenue.
Search using subject keywords, title of book or author's name.
