Need help? Contact library.coordinators@nbcc.ca
Fundamentals of Materials Engineering - a Basic Guide by
Fundamentals of Materials Engineering - A Basic Guide is a helpful textbook for readers learning the basics of materials science. This book covers important topics and fundamental concepts of materials engineering including crystal structure, imperfections, mechanical properties of materials, polymers, powder metallurgy, corrosion and composites. The authors have explained the concepts in an effective way and by using simple language for the benefit of a broad range of readers. This book is also beneficial to the students in engineering courses at B.Sc, M.Sc, and M.Tech. levels.
Construction: Materials Processing and Technologies by
This issue of the journal focuses on the advances in engineering science with special attention to the building materials and materials for environmental applications. The main topics include Constructional and Engineering Materials, Structure of materials characterization and testing, the Influence of An Infill, Environmental and Green Materials. The content in this issue provides a modern view of the aims in the development of environmentally friendly building materials and solving the problems associated with environmental safety and enhancement and the achievement of sustainable development also the current issue deals with a new research in green engineering.
Technically Drawn by
This book explains the importance of drawings and sketches to technical professions, and the lines and views of technical drawings.
AutoCAD and AutoCAD LT Essentials by
The step-by-step, full-color AutoCAD 2018 guide provides a full-color, task-based approach to mastering this powerful software.
The Language of Architecture and Civil Engineering by
This book not only provides unique and in-depth information to understand the language of architecture and civil engineering, it is also helpful for students and professionals who need to improve their linguistic skills.
Sustainable Water: Resources, Management and Challenges by
Population growth, increasing living standards, and rapidly changing climate have resulted in an increasing demand for freshwater, accelerating the water degradation challenges. There is a compelling need to minimize water consumption and develop approaches to effectively manage existing water resources. On a positive note, water resource management strategies discussed in this book present innovative ways to conserve both quality and quantity. Chapter 1 discusses decentralized water management approaches for intervening the urban water cycle to minimize the environmental and socioeconomic impacts. This chapter concludes with a need to use a suite of tools based on decision support systems for managing urban water resources. Chapter 2 discusses the need for assessing suitability of various types of models for a specific scenario based on the required level of complexity. This chapter discusses in detail the underlying criteria behind model selection, validation, and uncertainty analysis. Urban watersheds can be more challenging compared to natural watersheds. The urban watersheds include parking lots, roads, and developed structures, all of which contribute to a myriad of anthropogenic pollutants through stormwater runoff. Computer-based models can be used to study water quality issues and to develop a plan to manage watershed level resources. Chapter 3 compares pros and cons of the state-of-the-art watershed models used for managing water resources. Numerical simulations can be performed to compare the current and future water quality scenarios of a given watershed and to estimate the impact of potential water resource management strategies. Chapter 4 presents a case study of an urban region in Hanoi, Vietnam. Water evaluation and planning simulation tool was used to predict the trends and drivers of wastewater generation. Considering rapidly changing climate and associated weather impacts, it is critical to secure water resources in addition to dealing with the water quality issues. Chapter 5 suggests that climate change models and watershed and precipitation models should be jointly used in order to capture uncertainties in ecological functions, energy and food production and water supply sources. Chapter 6 presents a water use estimation and management tool that examines the effect of climate change and drought conditions on water supplies to ensure adequate buffalo forage. Sustaining both buffalo forage and water supplies during drought conditions requires preparedness and adaptation in response to unfavorable conditions. Finally, water reuse can alleviate the stress on available water resources. For example, effluents from wastewater treatment plants and desalination plants can be treated and reused for managing water crisis. Chapter 7 emphasizes that it is critical to optimize both economical and sustainability parameters during treatment of wastewater effluents and desalination concentrate. In certain cases, valuable metals can be recovered from the concentrate.
Durability Design of Concrete Structures by
Comprehensive coverage of durability of concrete at both material and structural levels, with design related issues. Links two active fields in materials science and structural engineering: the durability processes of concrete materials and design methods of concrete structures.
Handbook of Recycled Concrete and Demolition Waste by
The ability to recycle and reuse concrete and demolition waste is critical to reducing environmental impacts in meeting national, regional and global environmental targets. Handbook of recycled concrete and demolition waste summarizes key recent research in achieving these goals.
Concise Encyclopedia of Construction Terms and Phrases by
This book will provide ample resources for further reference and study, including listings of relevant associations and societies, as well as governmental agencies involved with the construction industry.
Search using subject keywords, title of book or author's name.
