Library Learning Commons: Bricklaying: Finding Articles

Finding Bricklaying Articles

Use our Research Databases to find reliable information for your assignments. Start your research with these databases below or view all our databases.

Canadian Codes & Standards (CSA OnDemand) This link opens in a new window
CSA OnDemand is a searchable library of standards from the Canadian Standards Association. It provides continually updated standards for online viewing and downloadable PDFs. Select "My Library" to access content.

CSA User Guide for NBCC

Home Improvement This link opens in a new window
Offers articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.
Engineering This link opens in a new window
An online database providing coverage of the international literature on civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering including their complementary fields

Finding Multi-Subject Articles

Search for articles on any topic or multi-disciplinary articles in these general databases below or view all our databases.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides multi-subject research - including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide learning.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Get Help Finding Articles

Join a Virtual Workshop on Finding Articles, Plagiarism, Citations or Brightspace. New workshops are added weekly.
Book a Help Session with your library staff.
How to Use a Database tips and tools.
Turning Research into Results video on YouTube or below:

Articles in our Databases

Journal Articles

contains original research
written by a researcher or expert in their field
cites other research
rigorous publishing process (often peer-reviewed by experts)
longer and more in-depth on a particular research question

Magazine Articles

reports on other's research or on events
written for the public
rarely cites research
shorter and less in-depth

Newspaper Articles

reports on a specific event
written by a journalist for the general public
rarely contains in-depth discussion

Case Studies

an in-depth look at one person, group or event in order to understand a larger trend
often written by a researcher
contains observations in a real-life context (not a lab or controlled study)

Bricklaying

When prompted to sign in, use your NBCC login and password.